About us

With a team of bachelor and master students from the University of Amsterdam and Maastricht University we program robots to play football by themselves. With these robots we compete in competitions around the whole world. By programming them in advance, we let them see with their cameras, hear with their microphones and communicate with their wifi capabilities to remove the need for a human controller.



Interactive and educational demonstrations with robots


The latest advancements in the field of artificial intelligence and robotics

Autonomous Football

Robots playing football all by themselves


Discover yourself how to program a robot

View all the activities

Qualification video 2020

Here is our qualification video for the RoboCup in Bordeaux!

Open Lab

The Dutch Nao Team is a group of bachelor and master students focused on programming robots to play football autonomously in yearly competitions such as the Robocup. Last year we ended up in the top 9 (of 24) of the standard platform league.

To be able to play football we solve all kinds of problems in different domains such as computer-vision, locomotion, behavior, code optimisation and framework management. Languages we use are C++, Python and Bash. If you find this interesting, you are welcome to come by the RoboLab where we will give some demos, provide snacks and answer questions. In order to estimate the turnout, we would appreciate if you fill in the form. You can also fill in the form to subscribe to the mailing-list.

Click here for the form.

17:00-19:00 13-02-2020
Room C3.165 Sciencepark, right next to the elevator at the main entrance on the third floor.

Open Day

This monday the Dutch Nao Team is organising an open day in the Robolab (Science Park 904, room C3.165)! If you are interested in programming robots to play soccer, feel free to join us on February the 18th between 16:00 and 18:00!

The team

Hidde Lekanne Deprez

Team Leader

Caitlin Lagrand

Team Leader Consultant

Pieter Kronemeijer

Ex Team Leader

Douwe van der Wal

Team Member

Wouter Zwerink

Team Member

Jier Nzuanzu

Team Member

Thomas Wiggers

Team Member

Ole Nissen

Team Member

Pim Heeman

Team member

Quinten Coltof

Team member




Years active